What Is the UNESCO’s World Heritage List?

UNESCO is the UN’s organization for education, science, and culture. In 1972 this organization established the World Heritage List.
The purpose of the establishment of the World Heritage List is to protect the world’s cultural and natural heritage against destruction, allowing future generations to derive pleasure from the globe’s landscapes and cultural memorials.

More than 186 countries have signed the World Heritage Convention and today there are more than 900 locations registered on the World Heritage List.

UNESCO strives to create better conditions for dialogue between the various civilizations, cultures, and peoples in the world. All UN member countries also automatically belong to UNESCO.

Besides the work to protect the earth’s World Heritage Areas, UNESCO annually spends large resources improving people’s access to for instance education and teaching materials, etc. The UNESCO head office is located in Paris.